Thoughts on my partial success

This morning, resigned to accepting failure, I started ordering new new capacitors for my Dad’s old Eagle radio.

That is, I looked up exact replacements for the values I’d removed, rather than the close approximations I’d used so far.

Although I’d kept to the same capacitance, I’d had to wander around on voltage. Usually upwards, sometimes a bit too much for what felt right, but in one instance id replaced a capacitor with a lower voltage than the original.

Or so I thought. When I went back through the list, checking off against what id removed, and comparing against what values I had available to me, I shouldn’t have needed to use a lower voltage capacitor.

So why did I?

It’s likely I’ve made a mistake. Maybe I put the wrong capacitance value in, which in turn wasn’t in the right voltage, or maybe my list is wrong.

I was making a new order for new replacement capacitors when I realised this, so I’ve put that order on hold. Ive one outstanding capacitor order, when that arrives later in the week I will replace that and check all the other values.

Hopefully, I’ll have made a mistake with one of the replacements and that can easily be swapped.

Then maybe I can fix the faults of the tuning cutting out above 105MHz and the sound being a bit strange.

And it’ll save me the £13 + VAT + delivery for the new replacement capacitors

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started